Vacuum Wars is reader supported. When you make a purchase using links on our site we may earn a commission. Details.
  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Cordless Vacuum Reviews
  4. /
  5. Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+...

Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ Review

Pinterest Hidden Image

The ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus is Hoover’s new flagship cordless vacuum. After putting it through all kinds of tests over a few weeks we think it’s the best cordless vacuum from Hoover, and it may be the best cordless vacuum in its price range period.

The Best Hoover Cordless We've Tested

Verdict

9.7/10

The Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ cordless vacuum is an excellent value. We love Hoover’s new brushroll design that works great on carpet, rugs, and hard floors. Above-floor cleaning is best-in-class, too.

Hoover really nailed the balance between price, included attachments, and battery run time. To sum it up, the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ is easily the best Hoover cordless vacuum that we’ve ever reviewed.  

  • Performance - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Features - 9/10
    9/10
  • Ergonomics - 9.7/10
    9.7/10
  • Value - 8.9/10
    8.9/10

Pros

  • Great on both carpet and hard floors
  • Excellent as a handheld
  • Two batteries for up to 90 minutes of cleaning

Cons

  • Lacks HEPA filtration

The Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ should not be confused with either the Emerge Pet or Emerge models as they have very different characteristics. The number of batteries and types of attachments they come with and even the floorhead design varies by model, so be careful as to which one you buy.

Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+
The Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ we purchased for this review. © Vacuum Wars

We bought the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ version with the extra battery, additional attachments, and new All-Terrain brushroll. As the review continues, we’ll demonstrate why each of these features is really important.

If you are considering buying a Hoover ONEPWR Emerge cordless vacuum, take note of the specific model name and what comes with it. Only the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ model includes two batteries and the accessories mentioned in this review. 

The Hoover ONEPWR family of products

The ONEPWR designation in this vacuum’s name means it’s part of Hoover’s shared battery ecosystem. The ONEPWR lineup allows sharing batteries with all of Hoover’s ONEPWR mini products.

What we like

We’ve done a lot of cordless vacuum reviews lately, and first let’s just say that there is a lot to like about Hoover’s latest flagship cordless vacuum, the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+.

Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus Dual Brushroll
Hoover’s new All-Terrain Dual Brush Roll Nozzle. © Vacuum Wars

New dual-brush design

One of the biggest positives is Hoover’s new floorhead design, which they call the All-Terrain Dual Brush Roll Nozzle. It has a soft roller in the front integrated with a more or less standard brushroll in the back. 

Shark has been putting dual-brushroll floorheads in its cordless vacuums like the new Shark Stratos Cordless we recently reviewed.

Great on hard floors

One of the biggest benefits of this dual brush design is that it gives the cordless vacuum amazing pickup ability on hard floors.

Hard Floor Debris Pickup Test - Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus
Testing fine debris pickup on hard floors. © Vacuum Wars

It can pick up really fine debris, just like it’s dusting the floor, but it can also pick up extremely large debris. It’s also good with both pet and human hair on hard floors. This is a very very positive development from Hoover, and it really is a game changer when it comes to hard floor vacuuming.

Great on carpet and rugs

Just because it’s really good for hard floors doesn’t mean it’s bad for carpets. In fact, the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ was as good or better than any vacuum we have tested with debris pickup on carpets.

Vacuuming Medium Debris on Carpeting - Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus
Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ vacuuming medium-sized debris on carpet. © Vacuum Wars

The transition from hard floors to carpets was seamless, meaning that you don’t have to adjust settings or push any buttons. You just go from one surface to the other. It doesn’t pull forward or bog down on carpets either. This can be an issue with other dual brushroll designs we’ve used in the past.

Carpet Deep Clean Test results

We also test how good cordless vacuums are at cleaning deeply embedded dirt in carpets. The Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ scored well above average on this test. Numerically, it scored 98, which is higher than the average of all cordless vacuums we have tested

Suction

It also had higher than average sealed suction scores in our tests. This really comes in handy with above-floor cleaning which we will get to further along in the review. 

Handle and Controls - Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus
The Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ has simple controls on its handle. © Vacuum Wars

Controls on the Emerge Pet+ handle are pretty simple, with a power button and a button to increase and decrease suction power.  We really like the shape of the handle as well, which allows for different hand positions and helps you to find a better center of gravity to reduce strain on your forearm. 

Battery and ONEPWR ecosystem

Another big check in the pro column is the battery situation. We bought the Plus version, which comes with two batteries. We like that they are removable and that the batteries are part of a larger Hoover ONEPWR ecosystem.

We recently put another vacuum from the ONEPWR system through its paces. Read our review of the Hoover ONEPWR Evolve Pet Elite–a cordless upright!

Even if you don’t purchase any other ONEPWR tools, being a part of an ecosystem like this makes it easier to find replacement or extra batteries at decent prices.

Run time and charging

Hoover says each battery gets about 45 minutes on low power per charge, which is a little above average industry-wide. Of course, if you have two batteries, which is what the Plus model includes, you can get double that and get a maximum run time of 90 minutes.

Battery Test - Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus
Testing maximum battery run time of the ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus. © Vacuum Wars

We tested ours on Max power and got a little over 12 minutes of run-time per battery. So that’s roughly 25 minutes total on Max power, which is pretty good. We only see ourselves using Max power when vacuuming carpets or when doing above-floor cleaning tasks.

We didn’t test it, but Hoover says each ONEPWR battery can be fully charged with the included charger in one hour. That charger is capable of charging two batteries at a time.

The ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ as a handheld vacuum 

One of our favorite aspects of the Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ is its attachment set because it turns this already great cordless vacuum into one of the best above-floor cleaning systems we have ever reviewed. In our opinion, it makes the Emerge Pet+ version well worth the extra money.

Handheld - Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus
Using the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ Motorized Pet Tool. © Vacuum Wars

It has a powered extension hose that can be used with the Motorized Pet Tool (also marketed as the Powered Stair Tool) or the 2-in-1 Dusting and Crevice Tool. This means that you can carry all the vacuum’s weight in one hand while you do all the work with the other hand–in other words, without all the weight. It really is the future of above-floor cleaning.

Accessories

The attachments that came with ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ were top-notch, including a 2-in-1 Dusting and Crevice Tool that really seemed to work well. The Motorized Pet Tool (aka Powered Stair Tool… aka upholstery tool…) was great too.

Attachments and Accessories - Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus
Attachments and accessories included with Emerge Pet+ model. © Vacuum Wars

Other notable positive points

Other pros include a bright bank of LED lights on the floorhead to illuminate dark areas and a well-designed swivel and head that allows for easy maneuvering in tight spaces. The vacuum feels sturdy too.

Last but not least, the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ has the ability to stand up on its own. This is an underrated and quite rare feature for a cordless vacuum, so it was refreshing that Hoover included it. For storage, the vacuum does include a wall mount. 

What could be improved?

It can’t all be good stuff though, so let’s move on to the cons, or things we think could be improved.

Noise

One somewhat negative point is that the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ was louder than average, at least on Max power in our tests. That’s ironic because Hoover advertises it as being quieter than average, and to be fair, it is much quieter on its Low power setting.

Testing Noise in Max Power Mode - ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus
Testing how much noise is generated with a decibel meter. © Vacuum Wars

Handle weight

Another thing is that the handle weight is heavier than average. It’s not a huge deal in the case of the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ because its handle style allows it to be held in different ways. You can also mitigate that handle weight by holding it in a slightly different, while still comfortable, way.

Filtration

The Emerge Pet+ was just about average when we compared its filtration to all the cordless vacuums we have tested. And it did not pass our fog tests, meaning it doesn’t have a tightly sealed system.

We would have preferred that it had a completely sealed HEPA system, especially for its price. 

Bin size was also smaller than average at 400 milliliters, but as with the other shortcomings we identified, it really is relatively minor when compared with all the positive aspects of this vacuum.

In the box

  • Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ Cordless Vacuum
  • 2-in-1 Dusting and Crevice Tool
  • Motorized Pet Tool
  • Powered Extension Hose
  • Two Removable Batteries
  • Battery Charger
  • Manual and warranty

The final word

The Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ cordless vacuum is an excellent value. It is easily the best Hoover cordless vacuum that we’ve ever reviewed too. We love Hoover’s new brushroll design that works great on carpet, rugs, and hard floors.

Real World Testing the Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus Vacuum
Real-world testing the Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet Plus vacuum cleaner. © Vacuum Wars

When using the vacuum as a handheld for cleaning hard-to-reach places, it again shines. The powered, flexible extension hose is a winner too, and something other cordless vacuum manufacturers should take note of. 

If you are considering buying a Hoover ONEPWR Emerge cordless vacuum, take note of the specific model name and what comes with it. Only the ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ model includes two batteries and the accessories mentioned in this review. 

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does the Hoover ONEPWR battery last?

The maximum battery run time for Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ battery is 45 minutes. In our tests, when used in the highest power setting one battery lasts between 12 and 13 minutes.

Does the Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ have HEPA-level filtration?

No. The Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ does not have HEPA-level filtration. Its filter is capable of capturing 99.4% of dust and fine particles, down to 0.7 microns, short of the HEPA standard which is 99.97% of fine particles, down to 0.3 microns.

Can the Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ be used as a handheld vacuum?

Yes. The ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ converts to a handheld vacuum. The included flexible, powered hose can be used with powered and unpowered accessories, including a Motorized Pet Brush.

Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ Specs

ManufacturerHoover
ModelONEPWR Emerge Pet+
Vacuum typeCordless Stick
Motor265 watts
Bin capacity.4L / .42 qts.
Maximum battery life90 min. (45 min. x 2)
Recharge time60 min.
Battery4.0Ah, 20V Lithium-Ion
Removable batteryYes
Converts to handheldYes
Dimensions (L x W x H)9.5” x 10.8” x 44.25”
Weight8 lbs.
HeadlightsYes
Warranty3 yr.
Specifications are from the Hoover website and ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ manual.

The Hoover ONEPWR Emerge Pet+ is available online, is available online, including at the retailer(s) below.

9.7/10
Photo of author
Vacuum Wars
Vacuum Wars has been testing, reviewing and comparing vacuums and other consumer products for over half a decade with a goal of helping people make informed buying decisions. Learn more.

Best of the Best

Current Vacuum Wars product rankings:

Best Cordless Vacuums
Best Robot Vacuums
Best Upright Vacuums
Best Carpet Cleaners
Best Air Purifiers