Vacuum Wars is reader supported. When you make a purchase using links on our site we may earn a commission. Details.
  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Upright Vacuum Reviews
  4. /
  5. Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off...

Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim Review

Pinterest Hidden Image

Welcome to the Vacuum Wars review of the Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim upright vacuum, one of Bissell’s best-selling upright corded vacuums. We bought one, put it through all our upright vacuum tests, and in the end decided that it’s probably the best Bissell upright that we have ever reviewed.

An Excellent Bissell Upright

Our Verdict

9.4/10

We highly recommend the Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim for homes with both hard flooring and carpets, as well as for homes with pets. The upright is the highest scoring Bissell upright we’ve tested to date by a decent margin, and a good value for the price.

  • Performance - 8.9/10
    8.9/10
  • Features - 9.7/10
    9.7/10
  • Ergonomics - 9.5/10
    9.5/10
  • Value - 9.5/10
    9.5/10

Pros

  • Great debris pickup on all surfaces
  • HEPA sealed allergen system
  • Tangle-free brushroll

Cons

  • Small bin size

Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim

The Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim is very similar to the Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet upright vacuum. The Slim version, the one we are reviewing today, has a smaller head width of about 11.75 inches.

The non-Slim version is 13 inches wide. In practice, this makes the Slim version easier to maneuver in tight spaces. The Slim does have a trade-off however, a shorter cord by five feet.

Shopping for an upright? Check out more upright vacuum reviews and buying mistakes to avoid, too.

Our test results

We do a number of tests when reviewing vacuums. Below are results that are cited in this review and similar reviews we have published.

Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet SlimAverage of All Uprights Tested
Debris Pickup Score3020
Airflow @ Floorhead63 cfm20 cfm
Airflow @ Hose64 cfm79 cfm
Sealed Suction @ Hose72”81”
Unsealed Suction @ Floorhead0.20 kpa0.46 kpa
Cord Length25 feet31 feet
Dust Bin Size0.75L2.88L
Vacuum Wars Score9.38.8
The results above are from Vacuum Wars’ independent testing, not the manufacturer.

What we like about it

Excellent debris pickup

The MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim performed incredibly well in our debris pickup test, where we see how well it does with its most basic job: vacuuming stuff up.

Cleaning Larger Debris on Hard Floors
Testing performance: medium sized debris on hard flooring. © Vacuum Wars

The Slim has very large front gates, or openings, under the floorhead. This helped it perform exceptionally well on both hard floors and carpet, picking up whatever we threw at it from fine to extra large debris. A performance like this is rare. 

Great debris pickup at a more reasonable price

We give numerical scores for these surface debris tests so that we can compare scores with other vacuums. Looking across all uprights we’ve tested in this manner, the Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim did as well with debris pickup as vacuums two or even three times its price.

Cleaning Fine Debris with Dusting Brush - MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim
Cleaning fine debris with the dusting brush attachment. © Vacuum Wars

Converts from an upright vacuum to a canister

2-in-1 Lift-Off Technology is Bissell’s branded terminology which means you can detach the canister portion of the vacuum from the floorhead. This gives you far more options for above-floor cleaning tasks such as cleaning stairs and other hard-to-reach places. 

We highly recommend the MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim whether or not you have mostly hard floors or carpets, and no matter how many pets you have, or how long their hair is.

Tangle-Free Brush Roll

Another positive we found on the Bissell MultiClean is its Tangle-Free Brush Roll. This is a rare feature that few vacuums have, and in our tests this Bissell upright did really well with resisting pet and human hair tangles

Inspecting Brushroll for Tangled Hair - Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim
Inspecting the MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim brushroll for tangled hair. © Vacuum Wars

When hair does wrap around a brushroll, it can degrade performance and even stop the brush from spinning altogether. Removing hair tangled around a brushroll isn’t difficult, but having to not worry about it at all for the most part is pretty neat.

In the box

  • Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim
  • Combination Crevice Tool and Dusting Brush
  • PetTurbo Eraser Tool
  • Manual and warranty

HEPA Sealed Allergen System

The next pro is also somewhat rare: the MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim has a HEPA Sealed Allergen System. Bissell notes that it traps 99.97% of dust and allergens, citing ASTM F1977 testing at 0.3 microns. For the non-vacuum testing readers out there, what this means is that the Bissell upright was tested to ensure its system works as advertised.

Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim - Testing HEPA Seal
Testing the HEPA seal – MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim. © Vacuum Wars

We independently test all upright vacuums with our fog test. In this case we saw no visible fog leaking from the vacuum. This is really good, and not something you get with any upright you might purchase.

Related: There’s an even less expensive Bissell with 10 times more reviews on Amazon. How good is it? See our Bissell CleanView 2252 Review!

Attachments and accessories

The set of attachments that comes with the MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim was good too. It comes with the Pet TurboEraser Tool, which is a suction-powered brush for use on upholstery, as well as a Combination Crevice Tool and Dusting Brush. 

LED Lights on Floorhead - Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet
The MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet has bright LED lights on its floorhead. © Vacuum Wars

Other notable MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim features

  • LED Headlights: Along the front edge of the brushroll there is a series of LED lights. They’re more useful than you might think and are definitely a nice touch. 
  • Suction Adjustment: The upright has a suction adjustment lever so that you can vacuum even very thick rugs.
  • Brushroll On/Off: A brushroll on/off switch allows moving from hard floors to carpets without scattering debris. 
  • Squeegee on the Bottom of the Floorhead: Suction performance is improved while on hard floors, like tile, laminate, and hardwood, by way of a squeegee that runs the width of the cleaning head, just behind the brushroll. 
Tesing PetTurbo Eraser Tool - Pet Hair on Upholstery
Testing the PetTurbo Eraser Tool at removing pet hair from upholstery. © Vacuum Wars

Versatile, good for pet owners

All-in-all, we found Bissell’s MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim to be a very versatile system that can be used in many different ways. A few features make it especially helpful for pet owners, specifically the attachment set and the Tangle-Free Brush Roll.

Specs

Vacuum typeCorded Upright
Bagged/baglessBagless
Motor7 amps
Dust cup capacity.75L / .79 qts.
Cord length25 ft.
Hose length7.2 ft.
Cleaning path width11.75 in.
Weight15.7 lbs.
Powered accessoriesPet TurboEraser
HeadlightYes
Warranty5 yr. limited
Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim Specifications

What could be improved

Moving on to the cons, the MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim’s power was a bit low. 

Suction and airflow

Its airflow at the head was slightly above average, but all other suction and airflow metrics, such as sealed suction airflow at the hose and unsealed suction, tended to be below average.

Testing - Suction - Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim Review
Testing suction in the Vacuum Wars studio. © Vacuum Wars

However, these lower scores were partially due to its larger front gates that we mentioned as a pro above. These gates allow it to perform better with debris pickup, especially on hard floors, because when the vacuum has larger holes to take in larger debris it also lets in more air, thereby reducing its seal.

Similarly, it didn’t score well at all with the crevice pickup test because of these larger gates.

Vacuuming Hard Floors - MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim Review
Vacuuming fine debris on hard floors during our review. © Vacuum Wars

Bin size, cord length, and handle

Both its cord length and bin size are a little bit below average, but not particularly noticeable. One negative thing was that we wish the handle could detach from the wand like many other vacuums we have tested can. With this upright, you have to take the handle and wand off and then use attachments directly connected to the hose.

Should you buy the Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim?

The Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim is impressive. Though we would consider it a mid-level price range vacuum, it scored well above average with its Vacuum Wars Score at 9.3. The next closest Bissell scored an 8.8, which is also the average score for all the upright vacuums that we’ve tested. 

Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim - Review
The Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim we purchased for this review. © Vacuum Wars

For this reason, and as we said earlier, this is the best Bissell upright that we have tested. We highly recommend the MultiClean Allergen Lift Off Pet Slim whether you have mostly hard floors or carpets, and no matter how many pets you have or how long their hair is. We think this upright will serve you well.

The Bissell MultiClean Allergen Lift-Off Pet Slim is available online, including at the retailer(s) below.

9.4/10
Amazon
Photo of author
Vacuum Wars
Vacuum Wars has been testing, reviewing and comparing vacuums and other consumer products for over half a decade with a goal of helping people make informed buying decisions. Learn more.

Best of the Best

Current Vacuum Wars product rankings:

Best Cordless Vacuums
Best Robot Vacuums
Best Upright Vacuums
Best Carpet Cleaners
Best Air Purifiers